Musica Iagellonica

General information

Musica Iagellonica is a yearly, double-blind peer-reviewed musicological journal, issued since 1995. Its main language is English, however articles in French, German and Italian are also welcome. Its main aims are threefold:

  • to make Polish musicological research, largely unknown due to the language barrier, more widely available;
  • to promote the musical culture of Central Europe (Bohemia, Hungary, Poland and Slovenia) in its European cultural context;
  • to publish research into the musical culture of Central Europe carried out by musicologists from around the world.


Each article is provided with an English summary and keywords. All bibliographic references and citations are set according to the Chicago style (see The Chicago Manual of Style Online).

The basic form of Musica Iagellonica is electronic edition (eISSN 2545-0360), the journal is printed as well (ISSN 1233-9679).

The  journal  has  been  indexed  in  the  following  databases:  RILM Abstracts  of Music  Literature/EBSCO  Publishing, Erih+, Central and Eastern  European Online Library (CEEOL), The Central European Journal of  Social  Sciences  and Humanities (CEJSH), ICI Journals Master List and PBN/POL-index.

Each publication in Musica Iagellonica earns 20 points according to the List of Scored Journals issued by The Ministry of Science and Higher Education on July 31st 2019.

Editorial Board

Helen Geyer – University of Music Franz Liszt Weimar (Germany)

Halina Goldberg – Indiana University Bloomington (USA)

Marta Hulková – Comenius University, Bratislava (Slovakia)

Alicja Jarzębska – Jagiellonian University, Cracow (Poland)

Herbert Seifert – University of Vienna (Austria)

Zygmunt M. Szweykowski – Jagiellonian University, Cracow (Poland)

Marek Żebrowski – University of Southern California (USA)


Aleksandra Patalas (Assistant Editor)

Andrzej Sitarz (Assistant Editor)

Piotr Wilk (General Editor)

Recent Reviewers

Tomasz Baranowski – University of Warsaw (Poland)

Jonathan Bellman – University of Northern Colorado (USA)

David Bryant – Ca’ Foscari University, Venice (Italy)

Zofia Fabiańska – Jagiellonian University, Cracow (Poland)

Halina Goldberg – Indiana University Bloomington (USA)

Tomasz Jeż – University of Warsaw (Poland)

Iwona Lindstedt – University of Warsaw (Poland)

Bożena Muszkalska – University of Wrocław (Poland)

Barbara Przybyszewska-Jarmińska – Polish Academy of Sciences, Institute of Art (Poland)

Noel O’Regan – University of Edinburgh (UK)

Pierpaolo Polzonetti – University of California, Davis (USA)

Inja Stanović – University of Huddersfield (UK)

Rodobaldo Tibaldi – University of Pavia (Italy)

Marina Toffetti – University of Padua (Italy)

Magdalena Walter-Mazur – Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań (Poland)

Piotr Wilk – Jagiellonian University (Poland)

Review process

First, every paper is evaluated by the Editorial Board. Then it is submitted to two external expert readers whose final reports, prepared according to the MI’s criteria (see the Musica Iagellonica Review Form), are sent back to the editors within 3-4 months. Both the reviewers and the authors are anonymous each other (double blind review process), their identity is known just to the editors. The reviewers are independent of the authors, they are not affiliated with the same institution. If reviewers’ reports diverge radically, the editors submit the article to a third expert. If the contribution does not satisfy basic scientific criteria it is rejected by the editors without contacting with the reviewers. Editors always inform authors of the reviewer’s final decision.


Musica Iagellonica Sp. z o.o.

ul. Westerplatte 10

31-033 Kraków



fax +48 12 6631671



Proposals for articles should be addressed to Piotr Wilk,